General Skilled Migration (GSM) visas: The GSM Program is run through the SkillSelect service. Under SkillSelect you must first lodge an Expression of Interest (EOI) with the Department of Home Affairs.

The GSM Program has several specific features including a points-based system and a requirement to be invited to apply for a visa. Based on the results of your Skilled Migration Points Test, the Department will then invite you to apply for a General Skilled Migration visa either via a Skilled Independent visa (subclass 189) or State Sponsored Visa (Subclass 190).

In the event you do not have sufficient points to be eligible for a GSM visa you may apply for a Provisional Skilled visa (which is a pathway to Permanent Residency), providing you are eligible to be nominated by a State or Territory Government, or receive sponsorship by an eligible family member who is an Australian citizen, permanent resident, or eligible New Zealand citizen.

Visa Subclass
  • Skilled Graduate 485 (TR)
  • Skilled Independent (subclass 189)
  • Skilled – Nominated (subclass 190)
  • Skilled – Nominated or Sponsored (Provisional) (subclass 489)
  • Skilled-Regional (Residence) Visa (Subclass 887)
  • Skilled Recognised Graduate Visa (Subclass 476)
General Skilled Migration