The meaning of what constitutes as a “regional area” differs around Australia. In the bigger and more populated states like NSW, Victoria and Queensland it is areas outside the major cities.

In the case of Tasmania, South Australia and The Northern Territory the entire area is classified as a regional.

For the purpose of General Skilled Migration, migrants can claim points by either living in a nominated regional area or by studying at a regional University or campus as a full-time student for a total duration of 2 years. To receive extra 5 points, you are required to demonstrate that you have studied at a campus located in regional/low population growth metropolitan post codes.

Not considered as regional area – Sydney, Melbourne, Brisbane, Gold Coast, Perth (*Wollongong and New Castle status may change soon)

So, what constitutes a regional area in Australian States and Territory?

State Regional areas
New South Wales Everywhere except Sydney, New Castle, the Central Coast and Wollongong
Northern Territory Everywhere in the territory
Queensland Everywhere except the greater Brisbane area and the Gold Coast
South Australia Everywhere in the state
Tasmania Everywhere in the state
Victoria Everywhere apart from Melbourne metropolitan area
Western Australia Everywhere except Perth and surrounding area

Source: ABC News

Please note future changes may affect this list.

Our migration experts can guide you if require additional help for lodging and preparing your application for Skilled Migration or gain an advantage by booking in a consultation with our registered migration agents who can direct you towards the right path.